NFL MVP Odds, Mahomes no longer the favorite

NFL MVP Odds, Mahomes no longer the favorite

Welcome to Russell Wilson‘s world. 5Dimes oddsmakers have installed the Seahawk QB as the new betting favorite at +200 to be named the NFL’s MVP by the Associated Press. He leapfrogs Patrick Mahomes (+205), who was last year’s winner and the favorite to repeat until this week.

Wilson’s numbers speak volumes. He is completing an impressive 72.5% of his passes for 1,704 yards with 14 touchdowns and zero interceptions. The Seahawks are 5-1. Just last week, he led the Seahawks to a comeback road win over the Browns after trailing 20-6 in the first half. What makes that even more impressive is that his headset went dark. Seattle was trailing by two at that point, and the feed from Brian Schottenheimer’s play-call from the sideline to Wilson’s ear stopped working. Without hesitation, Wilson started calling the plays himself. Seven plays and 58 yards later, the Seahawks took the lead.

It’s only been six weeks. With Eleven more weeks remaining, who else is in the NFL MVP conversation?

Texans quarterback Deshaun Watson (+550) is the third favorite. He has completed 69.7% of his passes for 1,644 yards with 12 TDs and 3 INTs. Watson has also been sacked 18 times. Behind Watson is Panther rusher Christian McCaffrey (+900), who is doing for the run game what Mahomes did for the passing game last year. Through six weeks, the 23-year-old leads the league in rushing attempts (127), rushing yards (618) and second in total touchdowns (9).

Now let’s take a closer look at the complete odds to be named MVP.

Odds To Be Named NFL’s MVP by AP

Russell Wilson +200
Patrick Mahomes +205
Deshaun Watson +550
Christian McCaffrey +900
Tom Brady +1500
Aaron Rodgers +1500
Jimmy Garoppolo +2000
Lamar Jackson +2000
Carson Wentz +3000
Dak Prescott +5000
Alvin Kamara +6600
Dalvin Cook +7500
Kirk Cousins +7500
Matthew Stafford +8000
Philip Rivers +8000
Baker Mayfield +8000
Jared Goff +8500
Kyler Murray +10000
Khalil Mack +10000
Leonard Fournette +10000
Jacoby Brissett +10000
Derek Carr +10000
Josh Allen (BUF) +10000
Ezekiel Elliot +12500
Jameis Winston +15000
Julio Jones +15000
JJ Watt +15000
Aaron Donald +15000
Todd Gurley +15000
Mitchell Trubisky +20000
Le’ Veon Bell +20000
Matt Ryan +20000
Daniel Jones +20000
DeAndre Hopkins +25000
Joe Flacco +30000
Andy Dalton +50000
Marcus Mariota +50000
Sam Darnold +200000